University Medals are awarded to UQ graduates who achieve outstanding academic results for the duration of their program.


To be eligible for a University Medal, you must have completed a:

  • bachelor honours degree with first-class honours (AQF level 8)
  • Doctor of Medicine, or
  • Master of Architecture.

Graduates from integrated programs (e.g. the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) / Master of Engineering) are also eligible for a University Medal.


Each year the Committee for Academic Programs Policy (within the Academic Board) sets the specific criteria for University Medals.

A basic requirement is that the academic performance of each student who is nominated for a University Medal must go above and beyond the requirements of their degree.

At the beginning of each year, Executive Deans from each of the University's six faculties submit nominations to the Committee for Academic Programs Policy.

The Committee ensures that each nomination meets the strict criteria for awarding a medal, and submits a final list of medallists to the Vice-Chancellor for approval.

The Vice-Chancellor then advises University Medal recipients in May / June of each year.

Principles for awarding medals

  • University Medals recognise sustained outstanding academic excellence throughout the eligible UQ program.
  • All UQ faculties are represented in the annual University Medal allocations.
  • All students in eligible programs may be considered for a University Medal, provided they meet the criteria for sustained academic excellence.
  • University Medals are awarded in the year after the conferral of the eligible degree.
  • The number of medals allocated will be confirmed each year by the Committee for Academic Programs Policy.

Medal quotas

The annual faculty medal quota is typically:

  • 5 per cent of first-class class honours graduates (all applicable programs), and
  • 0.5 per cent of graduates from all remaining programs.